utah car registration fees 2021

Heres what you need to know to figure out what it will cost to register your car in Utah, how often youll need to register, and more. $8.00 replacement fee plus manufacturing fees ranging from $25.00 to $35.00. For every motorcycle, a fee for registration of $33 and for each . >> Added registration fees for EV owners range from $50 to $200 annually 17 0 obj 350 North State, Suite 350 PO Box 145030 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114 Telephone: (801) 538-1408 https://house.utleg.gov; Contact a Representative << To replace, visit your local DMV office with: If your Utah license plate and/or sticker has been damaged or gone missing, you need to order a replacement immediately. 36 38 >> Driver's Licence Examination Fee. The air pollution control fee applies in counties that are trying to reduce the level of air pollution they are dealing with on a regular basis, and the amount of the air pollution control fee, or APC fee, depends on which county you live in: When it comes to hauling a lot of people and cargo, the minivan is hard to beat. 59-2-407, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2018, Chapters 432 and 436}41-1a-1225, Utah Code Annotated 1953 Be it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah: Ownership proof. /XHeight 250 /Type /FontDescriptor A person may register a motorcycle or motor vehicle 12,000 pounds or less for a six month period. 0000037747 00000 n 78 of registration of a vehicle under this chapter for a six-month registration period under Section 79 41-1a-215.5 a registration fee shall be paid to the division as follows: 80 (i) for each electric motor vehicle: 81 (A) $69.75 during calendar year 2020; [and] 82 (B) $93 beginning January 1, 2021[, and thereafter]; The following are maximum fees that may be charged. /Prev 100135 1999 - 2023 DMV.ORG. 63 0 obj 0000040429 00000 n /Widths 41 0 R 0000046444 00000 n Remember that many states also require proof of auto insurance coverage when youre registering your car. This is the wrong policy at the wrong time and sends the wrong message and would hamper adoption of clean-air cars. I Googled around and found out that I could be on the hook for $1,000 (holy shit!). 64 0 obj And fees for hybrid electric vehicles (such as a Prius) would rise from $20 to $50, up 150%. MhM\^*D 3Fl@hT;U&7;C@) =D=JW}gbktDCa)e-le_K4Trvk:ll\5sa2oj9m6mchp-)d9Jl"V$U# U!ma+b|01 3Yk d#7u-H*A*|SL=wCL=j-:d\Im:&JX*uOx$,m"5w2'5Lm)fRvK^ %y+(:&D %PDF-1.4 /CharSet (/four/t/h/space/S/u/b/period/H/B/two/zero/nine/parenleft/G/r/e/n/parenright/R/p/s/a/i/v/K/y/J/C/o/f/V/E/I/L/T/A/O/N/F/colon/l/D/c/g/d/P/M/U/one/hyphen/six/three/eight/w) 0000000017 00000 n 0000022855 00000 n Download the CoPilot app to be immediately notified when a saved vehicle drops in price or when a great new [MODEL] listing goes up for sale. endobj $5.50 - for title only. Registering Your Vehicles in Utah Most on- and off-road vehicles, boats, aircraft, and commercial vehicles must be registered to operate in Utah. 1. /Length 1983 Registration fees also apply. xref Compare Auto Insurance Rates from Multiple Companies. /Encoding /WinAnsiEncoding CoPilot helps you avoid any tricks, traps, and scams. A few notes: These car registration fees are for passenger cars only; states charge different fees for RVs, trucks, antique cars, etc. /Corel_IsVertical false The fee, as determined by the Utah Tax Commission, is based on 1.5% of the market value of commercial trailers and trucks. Need help finding the best deal on coverage? The vehicle registration fee calculator will be corrected soon. Homemade boat/vessel that is at least 16 feet but less than 28 feet in length, made out of wood, and has a beam of five feet or less - $55 registration plus $6 processing fee. 0000053116 00000 n renewal of registration. << xref Property damage liability coverage worth $15,000, in case you hit someone else's car or property. Proof of Utah car insurance. Motor vehicles may not be driven legally if they have never been registered or if the registration has expired. Please select one of the below to continue: Email this form to yourself and complete it on your computer. << << NOT have any exemptions to your renewal fees. Abandoned, Accident, Invalid Driver's License or Theft impound release - $0.00 Improper/Expired/No Registration impound release - $48.00* No Insurance impound release - $0.00 Compare.com does business in California as Comparedotcom Insurance Agency, LLC (License: 0I22535). 16 09 2021 Vehicle Registration. trailer Registration fee payment. You must have a valid safety inspection if your vehicle qualifies. /Root 64 0 R Harper said he believes the bill will not hurt air quality and, I believe it levels the field more for people who use the road, regardless of the type of fuel that they consume. The emission fee for fiscal year 2023 (July 1, 2022, through June 30, 2023) is $92.58 per ton of emissions. << 0Bnxx\_!Na6Z>y_O@@[ 2M'Rc5-KeDm\ Vi_7ToDB4 d@2f5pg;8,NL ]'k$ wPJIK)-zykB@-KqYX>~xg59:BvF 'xts8Kb [w@8/_5{FDH1H7suW The current legislation applies the exemption to any vehicle in that age class vintage or not and has no real methods of enforcement. \ + 3% 0 ] << 500 500 500 500 500 500 500 333 333 570 570 570 500 930 722 667 722 722 667 /FontName /PBAYZX+TimesNewRomanPSMT,Bold 0000039961 00000 n Below is a table of each state's registration and title fees. Cannon said the break-even point now for an electric vehicle is driving about 8,000 miles a year. 2023 Passenger Vehicle Fees. >> Procedures for registering the vehicle in your name. 0000064517 00000 n All rights reserved. $15 Passport to the Parks fee. Heres a list of those fees for the state of Utah. As of 41-1a-1206, which went into effect on 1/1/2021, most vehicles registration fees are based on gross domestic weight. As an award-winning writer, Nick has seen his work published in countless renowned publications, such as the Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and U.S. News & World Report. 0000036700 00000 n m : 9 ) I \ . 0 ; 5 _ 0000005386 00000 n 0000052605 00000 n 0000056401 00000 n CoPilot doesnt work with dealerships, so there are no sponsored posts or other shady practices just the most info on the best cars. Know how and what you can negotiate. By changing registration costs based on how much a vehicle is likely to cost the state is a good way to stay on top of those expenses. The $125 annual registration includes the following benefits: Conduct all online government services 24/7 with the convenience of billing to one account - eliminate the need to enter credit card and billing information for each transaction. /Filter [/FlateDecode ] Instead, Utah calculates the cost of registering a car based on the type of vehicle it is, how old it is, what kind of fuel it uses, and the weight of the vehicle. 95 0 obj If your vehicle is 3 years old or younger, the fee is $150. 0000021722 00000 n The numbers we found are current as of July 2021, but it's smart to check the current numbers with your state department of motor . << First time street legal ATV registrations. >> Typically, a title fee is a one-time fee assessed when the title is acquired by each owner. >> /Annots [62 0 R ] The maximum safety inspection fee is $40. A Utah House committee approved a bill Monday that would dramatically increase annual fees for electric and hybrid vehicles starting next year. To order, visit your local DMV office with: You can also order a duplicate license plate and/or decal by mail. << With the proposed increase, he figures electric car owners would still pay $81 less than gasoline-powered cars. Box 30412 Salt Lake City, UT 84130. Every motor home operated in Utah must be titled and registered. Registration fees are charged based on the class of the vehicle and its weight. $5 Clean Air Act fee . endobj For instance, the fee is $53 for farm vehicles exceeding 12,000 lbs. /H [ 1089 343 ] For additional information, please visit the following: The laws, codes, and statutes relating to motor vehicles in the state of Utah can be found in Utah Code 41-3. 6% titling sales tax on vehicles over $500, $200 annual EV fee, $100 plug-in hybrid fee; $10 lien fee, $10-$30 wheel tax (varies by county);$100 annual EV fee, $75 hybrid fee. 0000004004 00000 n You pay the taxes to the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at the time of your vehicle registration. Car registration fees are an integral part of owning a vehicle. 0000034486 00000 n :3@/GVFJr[ dg.sJ (Apc$Kbu=Y 'qKJkdJq56w~? Drivers must carry the following minimum car insurance coverage: Bodily injury liability coverage at $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident. These fees are separate from the sales tax, and will likely be collected by the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles and not the Utah State Tax Commission . /L 86412 /Annots [89 0 R ] Applicants who wish to calculate the exact cost of registering a vehicle in advance may contact the Utah DMV at 801-297-7780 or toll-free at 1-800-DMV-UTAH. endobj /T 83819 Elizabeth Converse, representing Silicon Commons, an advocacy group for technology companies, said it worries about what were saying not only to your constituents, our Utah community, but also to the rest of the world with high fees on clean-air vehicles. 0000065414 00000 n << In addition to other registration fees, Utah also has a uniform fee that functions as a kind of property tax on your vehicle. 0000016723 00000 n /T 100147 Subject to the price/value of the vehicle. Youre still going to pay less than the average gas driver does.. << 16 33 ( NRS 482.480 and 482.482) For every passenger car, reconstructed, or specially constructed passenger car, regardless of weight or number of passenger capacity, a fee for registration of $33. 0000040960 00000 n stream These fees are flat fees based on the age of your vehicle. 278 833 556 500 556 556 444 389 333 556 500 722 500 500 444 394 220 394 520 If you also have the license plate number, state of current registration, and VIN (vehicle identification number), you can look up your vehicles current registration fee. 0000002005 00000 n ! " >> 0 << The average car is on the lot for 1-2 weeks, but the best deals usually get snapped up under 48 hours. >> Vehicle Title, Tax, Insurance & Registration Costs, $30 for up to 4000lbs (increases based on weight) + $15 surcharge, $44 for up to 12k pounds; $69.50 for over 12k pounds + $19 for each 2k pounds over 14k, $30.75 for less than 4,000 pounds; $35.75 for over 4,000 pounds. /Length1 1200 Some states charge extra on top of that, calling it a wheelage tax, personal property tax, use fee, excise tax, privilege tax or (if they really want to sound fancy) an ad valorem tax. Title Fee: $6 Registration Fee: $43 Plate Transfer Fee: $6 Average DMV fees in Utah on a new-car purchase add up to $1541, which includes the title, registration, and plate fees shown above. Learn more about us, our team, and what makes us tick. Request a 30-day temporary permit. endstream >> stream When purchasing a vehicle, one should expect to pay a lot more than just the sticker price. Different requirements, fees, and taxes apply, depending on your vehicle type and other factors. Last updated: July 27, 2022 at 11:59 am. /Pages 33 0 R stream LDS Church wants to light up a temple in a place that prides itself on dark skies, For husband-and-wife team, this new restaurant is the culmination of a decadeslong dream. A valid credit card. There are several different fees that are charged based on the county you live in. Related Links & Resources. The Vehicle License Fee is the portion that may be an income tax deduction and is what is displayed. Below you'll find the information needed to assist you through Utah's registration renewal process. VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEE REVISIONS 2021 GENERAL SESSION STATE OF UTAH Chief Sponsor: Kay J. Christofferson Senate Sponsor: {_____} Wayne A. Harper LONG TITLE . Title and Processing Fees. 41 0 obj /Pages 33 0 R Table of contents The Basic Fees You Need to Know: Registration, Plate, and Title Registration, License Plate, and Title Fees By State Certain veterans may qualify up to 65% reduced fares on Utah Transit Authority (UTA) busses and TRAX light rail. 333 300 330 500 750 750 750 500 722 722 722 722 722 722 1000 722 667 667 667 Common registration fees include: Sales and use tax (calculated on vehicle price) Registration fee $2.50. xtUX]%Npww6-Xwww@pw {^eQjZ$ 'Uw;SffF&!HQEN^ebEq05tu:ZEb 3)3 `d"71 5&`eb9C'7 LlAX , CC(dXLL n ##` fdl`g :;_ff /db Y?Mcb U :rsFAlv&1q~Iq|3}qAaQq#>2LA JCGChc@x? Figuring out how much does it cost to register a car in Utah can be a bit of a challenge, but it doesnt have to be too difficult. Utah Code 59-2-405 One of the following two uniform fees will be due at the time of registration, including the initial purchase, and at each subsequent renewal of registration (once per calendar year). 43 0 obj >> Fees shown below are for the impound release only. To do so, you'll need: Division of Motor Vehicles Mail and Correspondence P.O. Collections by NCDMV employees are for taking acknowledgment of signatures on title and license application forms with a space for attestation before a notary public. Nick Versaw leads Compare.com's editorial department, where he and his team specialize in crafting helpful, easy-to-understand content about car insurance and other related topics. NOTE: Other vehicle types have different registration requirements, including custom-built cars and snowmobiles. /O 65 Arizona has the lowest registration fee of $8, but the state adds a $32 public safety fee. Heavy vehicles may also have a scaled registration fee, where the fee increases with the weight of the vehicle. /Contents 66 0 R Visit the Utah DMV website for a complete list of all motor vehicle fees. /Font << /F12 20 0 R /F17 25 0 R /F22 30 0 R /F28 36 0 R /F36 43 0 R >> When you buy a new or used vehicle, youre always going to pay more than the sticker price. Percent good factor, which is calculated by the Utah Tax Commission and based on a particular model's depreciation rate. You need to pay to register your car, get a valid license plate, and claim your car's title. It charges a monthly fee per mile driven, up to an annual maximum of what the registration fee would be otherwise. Some states have many optional or vanity plates which often include increased fees. 0000049696 00000 n Vehicle Registration Fees, Insurance, and Other Costs by State for 2021. /Parent 33 0 R /Type /Catalog Registration fees following the first fee are $14.50-$32.50. The fees that are required from ALL vehicles include: Registration Fee: $46. 0000047264 00000 n A passenger vehicle weighing under 12,000 pounds costs $44 to renew for one year. /Contents 39 0 R /ProcSet [/PDF /Text] 0000001780 00000 n >> That comes as the House Transportation Committee on Monday advanced HB209 on 6-4 vote, which would increase the fees. Uniform Age Based Fee 0000054159 00000 n stream 0000004438 00000 n 0000021106 00000 n 6-9-year-old vehicles have a uniform fee of $80. /Length3 533 If youre wondering how much does it cost to register a car in Utah, youre in the right place. My vehicle wasn't registered since April 2021 (I never received the postcard reminder) and today I just got a citation, but it doesn't say how much. If you've already renewed your registration, you can check the status of your renewal by contacting the UT DMV. You need to know the make, model, and fuel type of your vehicle to start with. For example, say your annual car registration fee is based on a formula that charges $2 per 100 pounds of vehicle weight, $1 per $1,000 of value, a flat $10 for license plate tabs, and $35 in other taxes and charges. 73 0 obj 19 0 obj 0 endobj Your annual vehicle registration payment consists of various fees that apply to your vehicle. Colorado allocates $20 of the $50 registration fee for EV support. /TrimBox [0.0000 0.0000 612.0000 792.0000] Smog Check Fees The price of Utah smog check fees depend on the county a vehicle owner gets a smog check done in: Cache County - $20 Weber County - $30 /Info 34 0 R 0000044795 00000 n /FirstChar 32 Original Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price (MSRP). [250 333 555 500 500 1000 833 278 333 333 500 570 250 333 250 278 500 500 500 You'll need a valid credit or debit card for payment of your registration fees. /O 18 /Font << /F12 40 0 R /F17 45 0 R /F22 50 0 R /F28 56 0 R /F36 63 0 R /F41 68 0 R >> 0000041368 00000 n endobj 0000001644 00000 n 22 Utah Code Sections Affected: 23 ENACTS: 24 41-1a-1225, Utah Code Annotated 1953 25 *SB0073S03* 3rd Sub. 0000022295 00000 n *WLdPM'W%L_Vj[drX"huE5[D9U+DgP@ 25 03 2019 Vehicle Registration. When you shop for a new or used car, CoPilot helps you know more. Well go through all the costs to be aware of when purchasing a new or used vehicle. 0000041407 00000 n /ProcSet [/PDF /Text] Vehicles that require a safety inspection are listed below. 0000041903 00000 n /H [ 1190 454 ] For some vehicles, its easy to tell what the registration fee is, while others might qualify under several different provisions in the law. $4.50 - registration. a 32H/Ja,URy4yFo8B&Rx9o|WyE8[.#\LiI"W $250 for new), $130 EVE fee; regional transportation tax in some counties, $250 or 10% of the sales contract price whichever is less, $100 annual fee for hybrid car; $200 fee for EV; optional $5 permissive tax in some counties, $96 for a new registration; decrease over time, Excise tax of 3.25% for a new vehicle; for used cars, $20 on the 1st $1,500 of value + 3.25% of the remainder; $10 lien processing fee, $122-$152 depending on model year and MPG, 0.5% privilege tax on new vehicle purchases, $110 annual fee for plug-in hybrid vehicles, 6% (7% for residents of Allegheny Count and 8% for Philadelphia residents), Annual personal property tax based on vehicle value, 5% Infrastructure Maintenance Fee ($500 max), $46-$116 Gross Vehicle Weight Fee; $250 infrastructure fee if transferring registration; $60 biennial hybrid fee; $120 biennial EV fee, $100 annual EV fee; wheel tax (varies by county), If over $150 dealer must notify the state, Uniform fee due annually based on vehicle age, Varies by county, plus 0.3% motor vehicle sales/use tax.

2023 Spiral Wall Calendar, Articles U